The Space Development Steering Committee includes second astronaut on the moon Buzz Aldrin, sixth astronaut on the moon Edgar Mitchell, transformational strategist at Headquarters U.S. Air Force Lt. Col Peter Garretson, National Science Foundation Program Director for Control, Networks & Computational Intelligence Paul Werbos, former NASA Langley Research Center Chief Scientist Dennis Bushnell, former Head of Risk Assessment and Management at Goddard Space Flight Center Feng Hsu, former Boeing Phantom Works’ scientist Ed McCullough, Air Force Research Laboratory veteran James Michael Snead, and the world’s leading expert on space solar power, 25-year NASA veteran John Mankins.

The Space Development Steering Committee also includes the heads of the National Space Society, the Space Frontier Foundation, and the Mars Society.

Founder of the Space Development Steering Committee is Howard Bloom a former visiting scholar at NYU’s Graduate Psychology Department, a former Core Faculty Member at the Graduate Institute, and the author of The Lucifer Principle: A Scientific Expedition Into the Forces of History (“mesmerizing”—The Washington Post), Global Brain: The Evolution of Mass Mind From The Big Bang to the 21st Century (“reassuring and sobering”—The New Yorker), The Genius of the Beast: A Radical re-Vision of Capitalism (“exhilaratingly-written and masterfully-researched. I couldn’t put it down.”–James Burke), and The God Problem: How A Godless Cosmos Creates (“Bloom’s argument will rock your world.” Barbara Ehrenreich).

For close to 40 years, the space community has been developing new dreams, new schemes for making life a multiplanetary project — for taking ecosystems and you, me, and our children into permanent homes in space. The Space Development Steering Committee is dedicated to making those private visions public. And The Space Development Steering Committee is dedicated to giving a vast new frontier to the grand experiment of life, to the family of DNA.

Contact editor: